#HugsShouldntHurt: My Relationship With Running and Falling in Love

534607_3553912736145_321113587_n

This post is sponsored by Violet iodine, but all opinions expressed in this post are entirely my own.

One night after going out with my girlfriends and dancing, I met up with my ex boyfriend. When he came in for a hug, the pressure of the hug pushed into my chest and caused the worst pain I had ever felt. When I told him about this, he told me it was because I had gained weight and that only “girls with something wrong” get that kind of pain.

What? haha

Soon after that, I started running. I felt ugly and unfixable. I really thought there was something wrong with me. After my period came and went, the pain went away. I was convinced that the running I was doing was the cure to my breast discomfort.

I became a runner in a matter of months and I loved it. My ex ended up breaking up with me because he fell for his class project partner and told me, “She likes to work out and is super fit. And that is something I really want in a girlfriend.” Cool.

Running became my drug and I was immersed in the world of distance and Nikes. As I went on with my running journey, there was always a constant. My breasts would always hurt a lot right before my period. Running during that time had become unbearable and it would throw off my groove. Eventually this led me to stop running for a short time.

10487272_10204100348458624_5421704895574901426_n

Love has a funny way of coming back to you. I started dating a new guy and everything seemed to be going great. Until I gained a little weight. He also was uncomfortable with my “weight gain” so I decided to start running again. The next month, during winter break, he stopped calling and texting me. I would go days without hearing from him and when I questioned him about it he would tell me, “You’re crazy. I’ve just been super busy.”

A day before classes started for my last semester of college, he asked me for a break. I agreed to the terms, but didn’t realize that was his way of letting me down lightly. I was devastated.

I started blogging and discovering music. I would spent hours writing and researching all types of music and artists. Then one day, it wasn’t enough.  I was unhappy with myself. I hated the way I looked and I wasn’t getting over my now ex.

I started running again. This time was different, though. It was my therapy. I would go through playlists of all my current favorites and have the chance to take in the music while I ran. I would go on long runs and overthink every aspect of my life. Running became my new boyfriend. And then the pain started again. This time, though, I was determined to not let it interfere with my running.

533004_10150760026661008_458725788_n

Three years later and I still love to run. I don’t run as much as I would like since I teach Zumba and weight train as well now. But the pain is still there.

Now, I am with my current boyfriend (6/8/2012 <3) and every week before my period, we go through a process where he can’t hug me because of the pain I am feeling due to PMS breast discomfort.

I want to make this something that I don’t have to worry about anymore and hope to find the “cure” in Violet iodine. I will keep you all updated on my journey to ZERO premenstrual breast discomfort.

Stay tuned!!!

Anali

Thank you Violet iodine and Blogger Babes for this wonderful opportunity. Let me know what you think by tagging #HugsShouldntHurt on Facebook and Twitter.

One thought on “#HugsShouldntHurt: My Relationship With Running and Falling in Love

  1. I’m actually reading a book called “28 days lighter” by Pilates instructor Ellen Barrett. It basically suggests the kind of foods we should eat and exercises we should focus on during specific times in our 28 day cycle. Its very interesting, and it offers tips on how to avoid painful cycles. I think I am going to use it as a guideline on when to listen to my body and take it easy or amp the intervals during the 28 days. I definitely love your narrative to this subject. I think its something that should be discussed more often! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

