“At. Long. Last. A$AP” – A$AP Rocky

at-long-last-asap

At. Long. Last. A$AP is the second studio album by American hip hop recording artist A$AP Rocky. It was released on May 26, 2015, by A$AP Worldwide, Polo Grounds Music and RCA Records.

A$AP Rocky comes out swinging with his new album. The whole album itself is a carefully planned soundtrack to our lives. all walks of like can relate in one way or another to every song. Not only are the songs amazing, but A$AP Rocky brings on collaborations with guest verses from Lil Wayne, Kanye West, Future, M.I.A., Yasiin Bey (formerly Mos Def) and UGK, including Pimp C, who died in 2007. Rod Stewart and Miguel sing on one song.

As a music lover, I love all the different sounds that are used on this album. The album is laden with samples, from soul to Southern rock to indie rock. Nothing is too out of reach for A$AP Rocky.

I connected with every song in a different way. I loved the album and feel like it really shows that hip hop is not dead. Below if how I felt about the first few songs on the album, which ultimately are the reason I kept listening.

1. “Holy Ghost” (featuring Joe Fox)

“I got my own relationship with God, Lord.” This track is amazing to me and it really sets up the album. It’s like the first line of a book. It can either make it or break it for the listener. This track got me hooked and was the reason I kept listening. Here A$AP Rocky is proving that for some, Music really is Church.

2. “Canal St.” (featuring Bones)

“Rap game like the crack game, swear it’s all the same, hustle.” Delgado, Royal G, Klimeks, and Mernick really used the “new school” for this song while still keeping some of the “old school”. Canal St. is an ode to the ever amazing Jay-Z and references many of Jay’s more obscure, but popular songs. A$AP Rocky tells us he is more than just that “Pretty N***a” and has become a level above. I can’t disagree with that.

3. “Fine Whine” (featuring Future and M.I.A.)

“Wit yo fine a$$.” Wow!! Screwed up! As a Texas girl, this jam came on and I wanted to scream. Amazing transition from the previous track to a chill chopped and screwed track. The song transcends with the help of Joe Fox, Future, and M.I.A. (who is just FREAKING AWESOME). A$AP Rocky allows M.I.A. too come on the song and speak from the point of a woman being objectified.

4. “L$D”

This has Austin written all over it! A$AP Rocky did say that the song has a lot of elements form the time he was in Austin for SXSW and did acid….so…haha. This song is so trippy even when I am not under any influence. A$SAP Rocky, writers, and producers really tap in to that psychedelic swag in this track. It really brings the late 60s together with the modern as it transitions to an EDM beat. I love my late 60s/early 70s music so this track quickly became one of my favorites n this album.

As you can see, I LOVED the album.

What did you think of the album?

Haven’t heard it yet? You can find At. Long. Last. A$AP on Apple Music, iTunes, Spotify, or just be old school and buy the actual album. I know I am just WAITING for the vinyl edition to come out.

Just Listen,

Anali

Leave a Reply

