Book Review: I Am That Girl by Alexis Jones, Sophia Bush (Foreword)

18330189

Book Information:

In a crazy, media distracted world the important questions often get lost like: What’s your passion? What’s your purpose? Who do you want to be? Alexis Jones has built a career listening to and helping girls around the world figure out those questions in order to inspire them to think for themselves, to speak their truth, to discover their purpose, and to dream HUGE! Alexis believes that you’re not broken nor do you need to be fixed. You already are that girl who creates magic wherever she goes, who lives fearlessly, who inspires those around her to dream bigger, and who will leave the world better, just for having been in it.
Stop listening to that voice inside your head that tells you you’re not good enough. Stop worrying that you don’t have the perfect body, perfect job, perfect relationship, or perfect anything for that matter. Stop letting other people draw boundaries and limits around your life. And start living the life that you truly want (now!), the one you didn’t think you had the courage to imagine, but the one that’s absolutely possible! Including stories from thirty incredible women, Alexis has compiled everything she’s learned into one complete guide to being That Girl, the best version of you.

My Review:

I guess I read this book at the perfect time in my life. I am going through somewhat of a transition right now. Sometimes it feels like I am not where I WANT to be in life. I love my career, but the spark I used to get about it is gone. “I Am That Girl” helped me see that I can find my passion and go for it without any fear.

My favorite part of the book was reading all the personal stories and quotes from leaders of all backgrounds. I really felt like I connected to all the stories in one way or another.

The book was great and I loved the premise. The attitude throughout the whole book is that of motivation and inspiration. I really did learn a lot about myself as I read the book. I had a notebook as my reading companion and jotted down anything I found helpful or interesting.

When I got though about 3/4 of the book, everything seemed to become repetitive. There was nothing more I could learn from the book at this point and I continued reading only to see if there was more to be taught. That is the only reason I am giving this book 3 stars. I felt like the book should have ended long before it did.

My opinion is that this is a great book for anyone going through a career or life change that needs the extra push to follow their passion.

Favorite Quotes:

“Some people think I lack focus. I think they lack creativity.” – Mahshad Vakili

“To be nobody but yourself in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make you everybody else means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight; and never stop fighting.” – e.e. cummings

“Don’t compromise yourself. You are all you’ve got.” – Janis Joplin

I loved the book overall and feel that if you are trying to find yourself and your passion you should definitely give it a read! You can get your copy HERE. Kindle Unlimited subscribers can read this book for FREE!

Have you read “I Am That Girl”? What did you think of it? Share any thoughts or questions in the comments!

Stay in love,

Anali

Leave a Reply

