My Journey to Loving My Body: Day 1

97f03da09abba64aa05fb091ccba92e7

I am that girl who goes to the gym everyday. Some of you may call me a “gym rat” and I am a proud one at that.

But, I am also the girl who drinks beer and eats pizza and wings any chance she can. I love wings and can literally eat them all day, every day. I love to eat chips with sandwiches and just as a snack on their own. I love food and I love to eat. Even worse, I am a Latina, so I am constantly around delicious food at all and every family gathering no matter how big or small.

For as long as I can remember, I have been the “chubby” one of my family.

When I went to college, I started eating MORE of what I loved and also started to work out less. I really did become the designated “beautiful, but chubby” one of the family.

After I graduated, I started to work out again, but continued to eat as much as I wanted to. I lost a little weight, but have never fully felt comfortable in my body since I started college.

Now, I am at 144 lbs. At a size 4. And have super strong legs and just started to workout on my upper body. But, I still don’t have the “little waist, flat stomach” I have always tried to get back.

This is my workout routine as of now:

  • M – Legs and Butt
  • T – Zumba
  • W – Chest and Tri’s
  • Th – Running Day
  • F – Legs and Bi’s
  • Sat – Back and Shoulders
  • Sun – Running Day

My problem is that when people see me, they don’t necessarily think “Look at that FIT girl over there.” Now to me a FIT girl is toned, but not skinny; strong, but not too bulky. And I know it’s hard to get to that place. I know how much girls who do have this quality work and how much they have to sacrifice in order to do it.

I want to be that FIT girl people always point out and I am ready to make the change to become that.

I have come up with a plan to finally get to the point where I love my body and to the point that I am finally 100% comfortable wearing a bikini (a place I haven’t been in since I graduated high school).

Sacrifices (baby steps):

  • NO Beer
  • NO Chips
  • NO Cookies, Cupcakes, Cake
  • NO Extra bread
  • *PORTION CONTROL*

Goals:

  • Fit in to a size 2
  • Be able to do at least 5 pull-ups
  • Be able to do at least 5 dips
  • Be able to do at least 10 push-ups (not the “girlie” kind)
  • Be able to do the splits
  • Lose inches, but maintain my muscles
  • Be 100% comfortable in a bikini

Deadline:

  • May 8, 2015

Today will be my Day 1 and I will be documenting my journey on here. Mostly, I will probably be complaining about how hard it is to live without beer and chips, but I will also post my struggles and my feelings, as well as how much better I feel or not. I want to use my blog to stay motivated, but also so I can stay accountable.

I will post progress pictures as I go, starting tomorrow.

Wish me luck y’all! I know I can do it, but I also know it will take a lot of work to get there.

Stay in love,

AM

3 thoughts on “My Journey to Loving My Body: Day 1

Leave a Reply

