Valentine’s Day Post: Drunk in Love

Valentine’s Day. That day of the year when most of the women in relationships set really high expectations, only to be disappointed. That day of the year that all the single women post about how amazing it is to be single and secretly envy all those in relationships.

Two years ago I was that single woman. I pretended I hated the holiday. I went to eat wings (MY ABSOLUTE FAVORITE) and beer with my single friends. We laughed and talked about how stupid educated women are for getting into long term relationships at our age. We kept saying, “You don’t NEED a man to make you happy.” But, I went home that night and cried myself to sleep thinking, “But, it would be nice to have one.”

One year ago I was the woman in a relationship. I went all out on a gift I knew he would love and showed off the picture of the flowers he sent me to work. I wrote a post about how Valentine’s Day is for everyone and that we should remember all those who love us regardless if we are in a relationship or not.

It’s funny how things change so much in a year.

Now, it’s been almost two years since I met the love of my life. And I can say that I am genuinely happy. I read a post the other day about how love can “hold you back”.  It said how most couples pretend to be happy in public but secretly have so many problems that their lives end up being hard to manage. The woman who wrote it also said, “I just want to travel and see the world. I can’t do that in a relationship and especially not with him.”

But…seriously? If you are in a relationship and you feel held back or if you just aren’t happy…isn’t it time to move on?

Just because someone else is not happy in their relationship doesn’t mean that ALL couples feel the same way.

This year’s Valentine’s post is more for me to let the world know that people can be genuinely happy in a relationship. There are little arguments and we don’t always agree, but I am not lying when I say that I am happy.

He is the love of my life. My best friend. And before you go and call BULLSHIT on that statement, hear me out.

I can tell him anything. He likes to hear the gossip I tell him from work or from other friends. I can tell him how I think a man is hot and he can tell me how nice a woman’s booty looks. I trust him and he trusts me. When he looks at me, I see it in his eyes. And when I look at him, time literally stops. I don’t ever get bored and we can have so much fun on our own.

We promised each other to always keep it interesting and when it starts getting dull, even just a little, we tell each other and fix it. Any little “problem”…we fix. It’s hard work trying to keep another person happy, but it’s not impossible. He’s happy, I’m happy. It’s a win-win.

I want to live the rest of my life WITH him. I want to travel and see the world WITH him. I have an amazing job, I can pay my own rent, and I bought my own car. I don’t NEED him, but I WANT him. He doesn’t hold me back , he makes just makes life so much better.

Yes, we might be that annoying and disgusting couple most people DESPISE, especially around this time.

This Valentine’s Day I want to let everyone know that TRUE love does exist. It isn’t perfect and takes work, but it’s out there. If you are currently in a relationship and don’t genuinely feel anything like this, then it’s time to end it. And if you are single and still don’t believe, all I can say is keep looking.

 1526603_10202654117463753_1602419961_n

I am drunk in love and I am not ashamed of it. I shouldn’t have to hold back my happiness to make those people who are not happy in their current situation feel better. Be happy for me. Be happy for us.

Be happy for all those who are in love.

“At last, My love has come along…”

Stay in love,

AM

One thought on “Valentine’s Day Post: Drunk in Love

Leave a Reply

